Governance Structure


In 2011, the structure of the organization surrounding the library has been adapted to support the next phase of its existence. The private collection held in the BPH, consisting of 23,000 printed works and manuscripts, has been entrusted to a separate foundation run by the Ritman family. The latter trust will transfer the ‘right of usage’ of the library to the modified BPH foundation, which has been awarded the ANBI (Institute for General Benefit) status and will support the library’s new start.


Mirjam Duivenvoorden-Ritman (chairman) studied Art History at the University of Amsterdam and was appointed curator of the Ritman Art Collection in 1993. From 2004 she was increasingly involved in the activities of the Bibliotheca Philosophica Hermetica, especially as the editor of a number of publications of publishing house In de Pelikaan. Since 2005 she has been on the board of the Bibliotheca Philosophica Hermetica Foundation, being appointed chair of the board in December 2010.

Mr Maarten R. Meijer (secretary) has worked as a notary public in Amsterdam since 1992. He is on the board of several institutions both within and outside the notary profession. He was Vice President of the Commission des Affaires Européens van l’Union Internationale du Notariat (2008-2013), chairman of the Amsterdam section of the KBN, the Royal Dutch Association of Civil Law Notaries (2006-2008), and chairman of the Kattendijke/ Drucker Foundation.

Mrs Hedy d’Ancona (board member) is a sociologist and politician. From 1989 to 1994 she was Minister of Health, Welfare and Culture. In addition to her board membership of the Bibliotheca Philosophica Hermetica Foundation, she is also on the board of several cultural institutions.


Director-general and librarian is Esther Ritman, Assistant Director is Rixande Oosterwijk.